In episode 297 of Scriptnotes, John August and Craig Mazin do some followup on things from previous episodes, then talk about franchises like James Bond which can move from studio to studio.

I didn’t know James Bond was a free-agent franchise at all before this, but that’s kind of fascinating.  I hope it stays that way.  I mean, Disney has been able to do a lot well with its recent acquisitions like Star Wars and Marvel, and it’s not necessarily a bad thing, but I just get a little wary about anything acquiring so many properties, because then what happens if things ever go sound with that one parent company?  And creative control.  It reminds me a little of how actors used to almost belong to one studio for huge chunks of time.  It seems like it’s better from creativity if things work more as free agents that rent out from place to place, but of course I have no control over any of this whatsoever.

And there are obviously upsides to being acquired.  And not just financial.  A well-established company overseeing production of material that used  to be more freelance can provide easier funding and more options as far as materials for storytelling, as well as a huge amount of marketing help.

Anyway, I hope James Bond does stay a free agent.  Also, while it was only brought up once, the most interesting part of this episode to me was Craig Mazin’s pitch for a movie about young in World War II, and the early days of spying–like that sounds like a great movie.  I would watch the heck out of that.  That pitch 100% sold for me.

They also spend a considerable chunk of time talking about reshoots and restructuring movies, which I didn’t know a lot about the technical side of, so that was very informative. To finish, they cover One Cool Things about a digital version of Adams Family Pinball, “Important, Not Important” a newsletter hitting news highlights, and Butcher Billy’s artwork covers made from Pop Song titles from the 80s and 90s, re-imagined as Stephen King book covers.

