I’ve been interested recently in War Films, or other stories that focus on the military.  Oddly enough, they’ve never really been one of my favorite genres, but time to time I’ll find one I really like, and reading the play version of Aaron Sorkin’s A Few Good Men last week got me thinking about the topic.  However, even if War Films hadn’t been on the brain, I think Meagan Leavey would have still had a great shot of being a film I stopped to read about when going over several articles about new releases on Indiewire.  The reason being, the official storyline I read has a lot to offer “Megan Leavey”: Based on the true life story of a young marine corporal whose unique discipline and bond with her military combat dog saved many lives during their deployment in Iraq. When she is assigned to clean up the K9 unit after a disciplinary hearing, Leavey identifies with a particularly aggressive dog, Rex, and is given the chance to train him. Over the course of their service, Megan and Rex completed more than 100 missions until an IED explosion injures them, putting their fate in jeopardy.”

I can’t think of any films off the top of my head that are specifically about a female marine, much less a marine and a dog.  Animals are a naturally good selling point to films, including War Films (such as War Horse), but I find them personally interesting and engaging, not just monetarily or commercially smart as a choice.  Based on a true story, Megan Leavey (Directed by Gabriela Cowperthwaite) is a film I think has promise, and I’ll be interested to keep up with it as it gets closer to its June 9 release date.

 

 

