In episode 290 of ScriptnotesJohn August and Craig Mazin discuss speech ticks and pauses or pause words while speaking, and learning to use them less through doing their podcast, a follow up from a reader about an article they referenced in the past episode, poisonous teething tablets and homeopathy, getting listener recommendations for a list of best-of-Scriptnotes episodes, and their One Cool Things about the game Rusty Lake: Roots, and Archive.org, but the bulk of the episode is about having a social media presence as a screenwriter.

I am really glad I listened to this episode, because it’s something I had a lot of questions about, and know is relevant to what I need to be working towards myself right now.  I’m currently writing a feature script I intent to independently shoot on a very micro budget.  I may be a film student, but I’m quickly finding that in no way means I am prepared for this enormous task.  Along with decisions like crowdfunding and other means of financing, looking into festivals, distributors and streaming sites, and sites which let you curate your own film, I know a big part of the process will be having and growing an online presence, but I’m only now getting some good ideas of what that will mean and how to go about it.

The advice they give, as far as how often to update, and what sites to use, as well as what to avoid, like constantly re-tweeting or reposting your own promotion for your content, or only getting on to update something impersonal every once in awhile, is very useful to me.  I’ve been planning all along to have someone film behind the scenes footage constantly while in production, but I had no idea this is something people frequently do–much less that releasing some of it via social media was a tactic.  It’s fascinating.  I think some of the ideas, like having a Reality TV almost style camera set up in a room by itself, like a for-fun confessional, could be a great technique for getting interesting updates.  Coincidentally, I’ve been reading up on this a good bit too, and the combination of the readings and the podcast hit me hard.  It’s a very daunting project, and listening and reading has left me both inspired and terrified of the work ahead.  Still, whatever else I can say, I’m glad I know.  If you’re working on breaking into part of the film industry, it can be daunting, but still definitely give the episode a listen–it’s a quite informative and useful breakdown, or introduction, to social media in the business–and that knowledge is crucial knowledge.

